jesus was a primate

a small insight into my life: wife-mom-football-fitness-politics-religion~upcycle

Happy Anniversary…who cares?!?

20140120-155136.jpg

My husband and I just “celebrated” our 12th wedding anniversary. I say, “celebrated” because I personally find it strange that people make a big deal out of wedding anniversaries.
“Oh wow, 12 years, congratulations!”
“That’s so awesome!”
But I think to myself, “why wouldn’t we be married 12 years after our wedding day?”
Isn’t that the entire point of getting married in the first place? 2 people decide that they want to spend the rest of their lives together.
I find it almost offensive when people act like it is some big feat that after a few years, I’m still married.

Maybe it’s because I’m not a sentimental person, or because I come from a family with parents who just “celebrated” 45 years of marriage.
But when I got married, the plan was for life. I’m only 30(ish) so I guess I’ll be dealing with this for many, many more years.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 20, 2014 by in Uncategorized.
