jesus was a primate

a small insight into my life: wife-mom-football-fitness-politics-religion~upcycle

Daily Prompt: teach your bloggers…

20140125-072955.jpg

Daily Prompt: Teach Your (Bloggers) Well http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/01/25/daily-prompt-teaching/

I’ve never considered myself very good at teaching other people how to do stuff. I do it, well, just because I do.
Example: I was a competitive swimmer for many years and still enjoy swimming laps to relive stress & energy. My husband said to me one day, “I hate swimming laps, because I don’t know how to breath, teach me.”
I looked at him like he was a foreign creature, “wtf do you mean, you don’t know how to breath?!?”
After much discussion, I was still confused, so we went to the pool and as he was swimming he tried to turn his head and he sucked in water. Hmmmm, I can’t help you, I just breath. Lol

So teaching my “readers” anything is out of my wheelhouse; but maybe I can inspire someone.

One of my favorite hobbies is upcycling ( taking something old & ugly and turning it into something awesome).
I’m constantly on swip-swap sites, at garage sales, thrift stores & digging in bulk trash on curbs for anything I can turn into something cool.

20140125-073031.jpg

Here I started with this hideous piece of furniture. This was left in my home by the previous family (I don’t blame them! & actually there were 2).

I started with the wooden storage unit. I used an electric sander to remove the varnish & first layer of paint.

Then I cleaned the storage unit very well to remove any dust from sanding.
Then it was time to paint, I actually used eggshell white, house paint (that was also left by the previous family). 2 coats of paint was all it needed.
I finished the top off with a coat of clear sealant/varnish.

The baskets were easy to transform.
I wanted them grey, but couldn’t find the “right” shade, so I decided to use “primer” spray paint…. The color is beautiful.
I sprayed them a couple of times, wicker can be tricky because of all the nooks and crannies, make sure to change the angle of the baskets often, to get good,even coverage.

I removed the leather pulls before I started to paint. After the baskets were dry, I replaced the pulls with these unique knobs I found at Hobby Lobby.
(You need a drill for this part to make a hole for the knobs)

Easy & Fun!

Now get out there and make something old, new again 🙂

20140125-073048.jpg

10 comments on “Daily Prompt: teach your bloggers…

  1. Pingback: How to make a felt rose | A mom's blog

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Teach Your (Bloggers) Well | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Najee
    January 25, 2014

    Way too awesome! Great color choices, too. =)

    • jesuswasaprimate
      January 25, 2014

      Thank you so much!
      I love the colors as well, I’m trying to branch out into brighter colors but always fall back to this pallet.

  4. Pingback: Socratic Dialogue, How to Write/Daily Prompt | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Teach Your (Bloggers) Well | The Wandering Poet

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Teaching | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  7. Pingback: Of a how-to… | Concentrate On Yourself

  8. Pingback: Eulogy Heard By Nobody | The Jittery Goat

  9. Pingback: How I paint – Teach Your (Bloggers) Well | Caring and Creating

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 25, 2014 by in thrifty upcycle and tagged , , .
