jesus was a primate

a small insight into my life: wife-mom-football-fitness-politics-religion~upcycle

thrifting

One of my favorite things to do is visit local thrift stores, antique stores, yard sale and estate sales.   Hunting for treasures is so much fun.    As a life long thrifter, I have honed my craft and worked out my own thrifting systems.

Most items at thrift stores are priced dramatically lower than any retail store, obviously because most items have been gently used.   I like to take it even one step farther, I will not pay more than $1 for any piece of clothing (for myself) at a thrift store.

The Goodwill stores in my area have $.99 color tag day, every Thursday.   It is my routine to hit at least one Goodwill every Thursday, sometimes I find 2 items and others I find over 40.  I like hunting through the racks, digging for treasures.

A couple weeks ago I came across a blog http://mygoodwillfinds.wordpress.com/  Jamie finds fabulous stuff and blogs about it…. she inspired me to share some of my recent thrifting finds.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~`

Image

Image

on $.99 day at Goodwill, I found this dress. I paired it with a pair of black leggings, a black tank and boots i bought at Goodwill for $.99 last year sometime.    I plan to wear it over a swim suit in the summer… Gotta love duel purpose!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Image

another $.99 Goodwill find.   Cute little tie dye dress, The tags have been cut out, so I’m not sure the brand.     For winter I wear a cute little jacket, leggings and boots…..Summer a pair of cute heels or flip flops

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Image

Couldn’t pass this cute sweatshirt up, $.99 at Goodwill        It will go perfect with ripped up jeans and motorcycle boots

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Image

Thank you Goodwill gods!   $.99

I recently dug through my moms button box and found 6 brass buttons that were originally on my dads army uniform, I have been looking for something to put them on….(the finished project will be in a future post)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Image

Image

This adorable chiffon blouse was found at the thrift store, Savers.  They also have a $1 color tag day, but only once a month and depending on the location.

This top will go cute with anything!  Skinny jeans & heels.  Ripped jeans & boots.  A skirt and cute flats….

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Image

Goodwill $.99

This top is just a good staple item.   It is hard to tell from the photo, but the color is very unique, almost a greyish-aqua.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Image

goodwill $.99

Black forever 21 dress.

It didn’t have a belt, but I have a ton to choose from.     I don’t have an immediate need for a dress like this, but it fit perfectly and I like to keep items like this for when the occasion arises, I’m not forced to spend $100 on a dress.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Image

Goodwill .$99

I saw this top a week ago, it was not on the color tag and was $6.99……I wanted it sooooo bad, but wasn’t willing to spend the extra money.  I’m glad I waited…..I love it much more at the steal price of $.99

It cinches at the waist and will look awesome with some skinny jeans.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Image

I bought this Express top at Buffalo Exchange, was on a special side walk sale and only $1.00

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Image

Goodwill $.99

I’m not a huge fan of butterflies, but am a sucker for anything pink.   This top will be a fun item to pair with shorts and chucks this summer.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

thrift20

Goodwill $.99

This hat is fantastic,  and perfect for those bad hair days!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

thrift19

Goodwill $.99 each

look at these awesome pillows!

They are originally from Ikea.   Hubby is freaked out by bed bugs and other stuff in pillows.    These ones are zippered onto the pillow inside.  I have some ugly throw pillows on the couch now, I will take the filler out and replace with our current pillows.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Image

Image

Find of the WEEK!!!

Goodwill $.99

M Sport for Morenatom boots.  This is a company out of Brazil, with super unique designs.

They looked almost brand new to me, the soles were in perfect condition & my exact size!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Image

Stance socks:  Goodwill $.69

I bought these for my son, i figured they would be fun to wear & still had the original tags attached

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Image

don’t mind the wrinkles on this shirt, I decided to take a picture after I had been wearing it all day.

I found this gem at an estate sale    $.25

When I purchased this vintage top, it had puffy lace sleeves. After cutting them off it looks modern and chic.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Image

These are my splurge of the week.

I found these awesome Danner w/gore tex hiking boots at an estate sale.  They were still in the box with the tissue paper still stuffed inside.  $10 later they were mine.

I broke them in camping this past weekend, perfect fit and they kept my feet dry.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

If you haven’t considered checking out your local thrift store, maybe you will now.

There are many awesome treasures to be found.

Happy Hunting!

7 comments on “thrifting

  1. Ned's Blog
    February 28, 2014

    I always have good luck in thrift stores. My wife gets jealous because she doesn’t. I explain that I am in that age range where people are either getting divorced or dying, so I really clean up on the discarded clothes 😉

    • jesuswasaprimate
      February 28, 2014

      Always good to benefit from divorce and death 😉

      I have the patience to spend 2 hours digging through racks and shelves; my husband on the other hand spend 3 minutes and says he can’t find anything.

      • Ned's Blog
        February 28, 2014

        Well, at least he’s honest. I couldn’t find anything in 3 minutes either 😉

  2. inspiredbythedivine1
    February 28, 2014

    I actually found, and bought, the Ark of the Covenant and the Holy Grail and a locale Thrift Shop a few years back for like, $2.65. I misplaced them during my last move, though. It’s a shame, cause something tells me they were worth a shit load of money.

  3. christiejoy
    March 5, 2014

    Love thrifting, LOVE those Morenatom boots!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 28, 2014 by in thrifty upcycle and tagged , , , , , .
